The Furniture Makers’ Company announces Design Guild Mark 2024 holders

Innovation of materials, creativity and sustainability are at the forefront of British design as 16 outstanding submissions, from three categories, are awarded the coveted Design Guild Mark in 2024, with three receiving the additional accolade the Jonathan Hindle Prize. The Design Guild Mark is a non-profit award programme that was established in 2008 by The Furniture Makers’ Company to raise the profile of British industrial design and to recognise excellence in this discipline. Over time the Mark has grown from just Furniture to include categories for Interior Design Elements, and Lighting.

The presentation took place at Humanscale during Clerkenwell Design Week on 21 May at 11am, with presentations by Deyan Sudjic OBE, a British writer and broadcaster and former director of the Design Museum, London. The awards are sponsored by Agau and Ideas.

The Design Guild Mark is unique and applicants are required to present their actual piece in person to the esteemed judging panel, to allow for a dialogue and any questions to take place. The panel of independent judges are world leaders in their field and bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the evaluation process.

The 2024 product selection is as follows:

Furniture: Designer Manufacturer
OE1 Sit-Stand Table Industrial Facility Herman Miller
Aran Morgan Studio Morgan
Kitt Mark Gabbertas Gabbertas Studio
Maluma Claesson Koivisto Rune  

Modus Furniture

Element sofa system Philippe Malouin SCP
Laines Craig Jones Jones & Partners
Woodland Seat Gaze Burvill Team Gaze Burvill
Pirouette Coat Stand Huw Evans and Campbell Thompson The Conran Shop
Bellingdon Table and Bellingdon sideboard Lisa Gould Sandall ercol

Interior Elements:

MODERN FLOCK wallpaper collection Erica Wakerly Modern Surface Ltd
Revolution (below) Jodie Padgett Camira


Bronte British Lambswool Collection Judith Coates BRONTE BY MOON
Re.Wrap (main image) Ric Frampton and Sophie Cappe The Collective


Tekiò Anthony Dickens Santa and Cole
Apex John Tree HAY
Hotaru Mini Edward Barber and Jay Osgerby Ozeki & Co


In addition, three of the awarded winners have received the Jonathan Hindle Prize for outstanding design, each receive a trophy made from solid surface Corian, and a £1,000 cash prize, the winners are:


Aran Morgan Studio Morgan
Re.Wrap Ric Frampton and Sophie Cappe  

The Collective

Apex John Tree HAY


Jonathan Hindle, Founder of DGM and President of KI, EMEA said: “As the Founder of Design Guild Mark, it has been a joy to watch it develop and progress now being widely recognised as a stamp of design excellence in the sector. Sustainability has always been an important factor for the awards but I am glad to see now that is the priority, and evident in the judges selection.”

Rodney McMahon, chairman of the Design Guild Mark, commented: “Meeting the applicants, hearing their design journey, and witnessing the friendly but insightful and probing questions of the judges is an enjoyable design master class. Designers should apply for the Design Guild Mark just for the experience of meeting the judges.”