The Furniture Makers’ Company announces Design Guild Mark 2022 holders

design guild mark bisley buddyInnovation of materials and creativity remain at the forefront of British design as 23 outstanding submissions from three categories are to be awarded the coveted Design Guild Mark in 2022. The Design Guild Mark is awarded by The Furniture Makers’ Company, the City of London livery company and charity for the furnishing industry, to drive excellence and raise the profile of British design and innovation. It recognises the highest standards in the design of furnishings in volume production across three categories – Furniture, 2D Design, and Lighting Design. The award is open to designers working in Britain or British designers working abroad.

Each distinct category has its own jury of renowned design experts who assess the submissions against a series of criteria, including: Are the materials appropriate? Are they from sustainable sources? Does the piece/collection show new thinking? Does it solve a problem?

The winning designers – some newcomers as well as previous holders – will be celebrated at a special awards ceremony on 24 May.  The awarded designs – representing the domestic and contract markets – will benefit from increased industry and consumer awareness, press and social media coverage, with the designers and companies behind them also receiving enhanced brand recognition.

In addition to honouring the winners, the ceremony will include the announcement of winners of the Jonathan Hindle Prize. This additional award is presented to the most outstanding of the year’s Design Guild Mark awarded pieces and each recipient will receive a stunning trophy and a cash prize.

Rodney McMahon, chairman of the Design Guild Mark, commented:  “The judging days are busy and intense, but it is always fascinating to learn how designers have developed their ideas and to witness their pride and excitement.  The judges’ knowledge and questions are endlessly thought provoking and it is a design masterclass for me, and to be able to do it in person this year was a real privilege.”



Your Move   

Designed by Jon Christie for Flip the Script Furniture


Designed by Morgan Studio for Morgan

Smalto Low Table           

Designed by Edward Barber and Jay Osgerby for Knoll


Designed by Barry Jenkins for Ocee International

Buddy (main image)       

Designed by Chris Fowler for Bisley


Designed by Mark Gabbertas for Gloster Furniture


Designed by Mark Gabbertas for Gloster Furniture


Designed by Dylan Freeth for Ercol


Designed by Phidias Leonida for NURUS


Designed by Tom Lloyd and Luke Pearson for Bene

The Davenport Bureau    

Designed by David Irwin for Another Country

Bowater Collection – Cable Shop Stool (kit)                 

Designed by Jan Hendzel for Jan Hendzel Studio

The Somerset Four Poster           

Designed by Garry Smith for The Cornish Bed Company

The Tetbury       

Designed by Garry Smith for The Cornish Bed Company


Textiles, wall coverings, surfaces carpets and floor coverings

‘All Tomorrow’s Futures’ Textured Linen Blend   

Designed by Charlotte Raffo and Alexis Snell for The Monkey Puzzle Tree


Designed by Jane Marks-Yewdall for Camira


Designed by Jones & Partners for The Collective Agency

Northward Bound Carpet Tiles       

Designed by the Milliken Design Team for Milliken Industrials




Designed by Edward Barber and Jay Osgerby for Ozeki Lantern Company

Joseph Collection        

Designed by Michael Young for EOQ


Designed by Yasuyuki Sakurai & Risa Sano for Hand & Eye Studio


Designed by Derek Treadwell for Innermost


Designed by Aaron Probyn for IKEA


The Design Guild Mark is judged by a panel of leading industry professionals. Each member of the panel is from the furniture, lighting, hospitality, commercial, retail, or media industry. Judges must ensure that each submission meets the criteria of excellence in design, materials, manufacture, and function.

Chaired by Rodney McMahon, this year’s eminent judging panel were:


Joanna Biggs – Director at GA Design

Elliott Koehler – Creative Director at JPA Design

Lucy Kurrein – Furniture Designer for Lucy Kurrein

Tom Pearce – Co-founder of Farrah & Pearce

Campbell Thompson – Head of Furniture and Lighting at The Conran Shop


Textiles et al

Linzi Coppick – Design Director at Forme UK

Daniel Hopwood – Director at Studio Hopwood

Clare Johnston – Emeritus Professor at the Royal College of Art and Textile Designer for Fashion and Interiors at Royal College of Art

Natasha Marshall – Designer and Founder of Natasha Marshall Limited

Emma Sewell – Textile Designer at Wallace Sewell

Peter Thwaites  – Design Director at Rapture and Wright



Simon Alderson – Co-founder of twentytwentyone

Tim Rundle – Industrial Designer and Founder of Tim Rundle Studio

John Tree – Designer at Jasper Morrison


All judges with an interest in an entry stood aside when that entry was being considered.