The Furniture Makers’ Company announces new Design Guild Mark 2018 holders

Twelve designs representing both the domestic and contract furniture market have been awarded the prestigious Design Guild Mark in 2018. The Design Guild Mark is awarded by The Furniture Makers’ Company, a City of London livery company and the furnishing industry’s charity, in order to drive excellence and raise the profile of British design and innovation. Now in its tenth year, the Mark recognises the highest standards in the design of furnishings in volume production by the finest designers working in Britain, or British designers working abroad. The Design Guild Mark is judged by a panel of leading industry professionals. Each member of the panel is from the furniture, hospitality, commercial, retail, or media industry. Judges must ensure that each piece of furniture meets the criteria of: excellence in design, materials, manufacture, and function.

Design Guild Mark 2018 award recipients are as follows:

  • The Hugo Settee
    Designed by Ian Archer and manufactured by SITS
  • Aphelion Console
    Designed by Byron and Gómez for Benchmark
  • Mozaik
    Designed by Mark Gabbertas for Allermuir
  • AXYL
    Designed by Benjamin Hubert of Layer for Allermuir
  • Thinking Quietly
    Designed by Jones & Partners for Thinking Works
  • Magnetic Copper Cube
    Designed by Paul Kelley for Paul Kelley Ltd
  • T1 Chair
    Designed by Rodney Kinsman RDI for OMK 1965
  • Manta
    Designed by Lyndon by Boss Design
  • Group
    Designed by Philippe Malouin for SCP
  • Famiglia
    Designed by PearsonLloyd for Allermuir
  • Edge Executive Desk
    Designed by PearsonLloyd for Modus Furniture
  • Race Antelope Chair
    Designed by Ernest Race for Race Furniture Limited

Chaired by Rodney McMahon, this year’s judging panel were:

  • Simon Alderson – twentytwentyone
  • Tom Pearce – Sebastian Conran Associates
  • Joanna Biggs – GA Design
  • Philippa Prinsloo – John Lewis
  • Rosa Bertoli – Wallpaper* Magazine
  • Pernille Stafford – Resonate Interiors
  • Barbara Chandler – The Evening Standard
  • Campbell Thompson – The Conran Shop
  • Rodney Kinsman – OMK Design
  • Terence Woodgate – Terence Woodgate